Now accepting Hall of Fame nominations! See news section for more details.

I Accept

United Kennel Club (UKC) is an international dog registry celebrating bonds, rewarding ability, and preserving the value of a pedigree. We use cookies to capture information such as IP addresses and tailor the website to our clients' needs. We also use this information to target and measure promotional material. Please see our Privacy Policy for more information.

Skip to main content
Facebook Instagram YouTube

Result: Pelican Open Field Trial Association

Location: Mayflower, Arkansas

Post Date: Mar 11, 2024

Submitted By: Rita Corder

Pelican OAAS24

Pelican Open All-Age Winners (front, l-r): Sharleen Daugherty, Matt Cochran with Westfall's Power Trip), Jon Lam (judge), and Dr. Fred Corder with Game Surge. (Back, l-r): Dr. Jim Mills, Steve Lytle, Les Rowell, Andy Daugherty, and Daniel Bolton (judge).

The Pelican Open All-Age was originally scheduled in conjunction with the Prairie Open All-Age but had to be rescheduled due to time constraints associated with the youth deer hunt at Camp Robinson. The Pelican was then postponed due to inclement weather and was finally able to start the last weekend in January. Jon Lam was maintained as the advertised judge; however, Daniel Bolden was able to step up to the request as Keith St. John canceled due to scheduling conflicts. Roger Martin once again ran the dog wagon to perfection, making this trial flow seamlessly and allowing for a timely completion as there were a large number of entries. This year, the Pelican was able to pick up Andy Daugherty as he made his way from his usual training grounds in Florida. It was a good event with all the handlers and participants who came to support this qualifying trial. It was also notable from this reporter how much less cover and habitat were available from the trial three weeks prior. Most likely due to the inclement weather of the week-long winter storm.

This year's winner, Como Thunder, owned by David and Rachel Russell, Billy Blackwell, and Doug Arthur and handled by David Russell, was braced with Wynona's Nickleback Sugar, handled by Allen Vincent. This brace was released on the first afternoon of the trial. Como Thunder quickly struck with a find at Rock Hill on the left side; as the judges arrived, a large covey was put to flight over the dog's head--a nice piece of work to start the afternoon. From there, both dogs made mature forward swings to the mountain, and it was noted that Russell was becoming more familiar with the grounds. As we crossed over the mountain near the end of the hour, Thunder was on the base of the hill, making a nice forward move as pickup was called. He was rewarded for his efforts with the win qualifying him for the 125th running of the National Championship at Grand Junction, Tennessee.

Second-place honors were awarded to Westfall's Power Trip, owned by Bill and Ryan Westfall and handled by Andy Daughtery. He was released also in the first brace after lunch on the second day of the trial with Touch's Steely Dan, owned and handled by Johnny Van Horn. Both dogs were forward and attractive, with Westfall's Power Trip rewarded with a nice find as the morning and after courses split. Both dogs crossed the mountain and were pointed on the far left edge at pickup.

Third place was claimed by Game Surge, owned and handled by Dr. Fred Corder. Surge was braced with I'm Gallant, handled by Randy Anderson. Dogs were released in the 18th brace of the trial from the mountain headed toward Dead Horse Curve strong and to the front. Surge was noted far to the left, making his move toward the minnow pond going out of sight, and was found to the left by handler pointed as handler flushed a large covey while I'm Gallant backed with style. Both dogs went on to finish down the afternoon course backward.
Mayflower, Ark., January 26
Judges: Daniel Bolden and Jon Lam
OPEN ALL-AGE [One-Hour Heats] - 39 Pointers and 1 Setter

1st-COMO THUNDER, 1687714, pointer male, by Skyfall-Catch Me Dot. B. K. & Rachel Blackwell, Doug Arthur & David Russell, owners; David Russell, handler.
2d-WESTFALL'S POWER TRIP, 1693198, pointer male, by Westfall's Black Ice-Westfall's Cutter. Ryan Westfall, owner; Andy Daugherty, handler.
3d-GAME SURGE, 1700091, pointer male, by Lester's Storm Surge-Game Maggie. Dr. Fred Corder, owner and handler.
The Derby
Winner of the derby competition, Game Star, owned and handled by Dr. Fred Corder, started on queue with a nice find and birds on her mind 4 minutes off the breakaway. Birds were flushed back in her face while stylish manners noted with her going on to finish having a forward, consistent race with her bracemate. Second place was Wild Covey Sundial, handled by Andy Daugherty and owned by Brad Calkins. Sundial was released and made some showy swings towards the mountain. As we topped the mountain, Sundial made a nice cast to the right and was seen standing, and handler called flight of birds as we were riding to the dog; manners and style were in order at pick up. Third place Wynona Rebel, handled by Allen Vincent and owned by Bruce Sooter, who was braced with the winner of this derby stake, had a nice, consistent forward race only to come up birdless.
This derby race concluded another all-age program of competition at Camp Robinson. Hopefully, field trial improvements will continue to manifest on these grounds with the noted improvements from last year. Thanks for all the support from all involved.

OPEN DERBY - 11 Pointers and 3 Setters
1st-GAME STAR, 1704929, pointer female, by Lester's Storm Surge-Game Belle. Dr. Fred Corder, owner and handler.
2d-WILD COVEY SUNDIAL, 1701529, pointer male, by Miller's Speed Dial-Wild Covey Jackie. Brad Calkins, owner; Andy Daugherty, handler.
3d-WYNONA'S REBEL, unreg., pointer male, by Dominator's Rebel Heir-White Smoke's Angel. Dennis Beauford & Bruce Sooter, owners; Allen Vincent, handler.

Pelican ODS24

Pelican Open Derby Winners (front, l-r): Dr. Fred Corder with Game Star, Andy Daugherty with Wild Covey Sundial, and Matt Cochran with Wynona's Rebel. (Back, l-r): Dr. Jim Mills, Steve Lytle, Les Rowell, Sharleen Daugherty, Allen Vincent, Daniel Bolton (judge), and Jon Lam (judge).