Now accepting Hall of Fame nominations! See news section for more details.

I Accept

United Kennel Club (UKC) is an international dog registry celebrating bonds, rewarding ability, and preserving the value of a pedigree. We use cookies to capture information such as IP addresses and tailor the website to our clients' needs. We also use this information to target and measure promotional material. Please see our Privacy Policy for more information.

Skip to main content
Facebook Instagram YouTube

Result: NGSPA Texas Championships

Location: Hico, Texas

Post Date: May 20, 2024

Submitted By: Terry Bomer


NGSPA Texas Amateur Shooting Dog Championship. Sarah and James Messer, Mark Wasserman, judges, Ritchie Rogers and Jerry Langford, Terry Bomer with Rhonda, Brandon Blum with Lucy.

The Bedrock Ranch is at the edge of the Texas Hill Country with native rolling terrain and river bottoms. This runs in a continuous course as the course is about 1 hours long for shooting dogs and an hour for the all-age dogs.

NGSPA Texas Amateur Shooting Dog Championship
The Amateur Shooting Dog Championship was the 1st stake to run, with 15 dogs drawn and 15 dogs run. The Stake was judged by Jerry Langford from Pilot Point, Texas and Ritchie Rogers of Willis Point, Texas. Birds were plentiful and M S R's Kiss My Lily "Lily", owned by James and Sarah Messer, handled by James Messer, scouted by Terry Bomer was named Champion after having a quality forward race, with multiple bird contacts. Chisholm Creek's Cut'er Loose "Lucy", owned and handled by Mark Wasserman, scouted by Brandon Blum was named runner-up.
Hico, Texas., November 13
Judges: Jerry Langford and Ritchie Rogers

Winner-M S R'S KISS MY LILY, 1685879, female, by B M B's Freeloader-M S R's Motorollin. James & Sarah Messer, owners; James Messer, handler.
Runner-Up-CHISHOLM CREEK'S CUT'ER LOOSE, 1683348, female, by Chisholm Creeks Cuttin Loose-Uodibar's Lorrie Darlin. Mark Wasserman, owner; Brandon Blum, handler.

NGSPA Texas Open All-Age Championship
The Open All-Age Championship was the next Stake to run with 10 dogs drawn and 10 dogs run. The Stake was judged by James Messer of Needville, Texas and Shannon Yancy of Columbus, Texas. B M B's Freeloader 'Hewey", owned and handled by Brandon Blum, scouted by Terry Bomer was named Champion. Hewey had 2 finds early in the brace with a moderate race to be named Champion. Texas Tuff "Tuff" owned and handled by Terry Bomer had big race and was found standing on his on his only find just before time was named Runner-Up.


NGSPA Texas Open All-Age Championship. Mark Wasserman, Judges James Messer and Shannon Curtis, Brandon Blum with "Hewey, Terry Bomer with "Tuff".

Judges: James Messer and Shannon Yancy
NGSPA TEXAS OPEN ALL-AGE CHAMPIONSHIP [One-Hour Heats] - 10 German Shorthairs

Winner-B M B'S FREELOADER, 1678664, male, by B M's Free Ride-Hightailing Saddle's Mandolin. Brandon Blum, owner and handler.
Runner-Up-TEXAS TUFF, 1662633, male, by Texas Bushwacking Bud-Cuttin Wilds Space Cowgirl. Terry Bomer, owner and handler.
NGSPA Texas Open Shooting Dog Championship
The Open Shooting Dog was the last Stake to run with 14 dogs drawn and 14 dogs run. This Stake was judged by Brandon Blum of Colorado and Sean Anderson of Alvord, Texas. M S R's Rowdy One "Rhonda" was named Champion, owned by James & Sarah Messer, handled by James Messer. Rhonda had several bird contacts with a good race. Chisholm Creek's Jumping Jack Flash "Flash", owned & scouted by Mark Wasserman, handled by Josh Neiman was named runner up.
A big thank you to our Sponsors Purina and SportDOG. Thank you to all the participants, judges and everyone there that helped with running the trial.
Judges: Sean Anderson Brandon Blum

Winner-M S R'S ROWDY RHONDA, 1675070, female, by Pine Acres Rusty SAddle-M S R's Oplescence. James & Sarah Messer, owners; James Messer, handler.
Runner-Up-CHISHOLM CREEKS JACK FLASH, 1696049, male, by Chisholm Creeks Jax Orbetter- Mark Wasserman, owner; Josh Neiman, handler.


NGSPA Texas Open Shooting Dog Championship. Sarah and James Messer, Judges Brandon Blum and Shannon Curtis, Josh Neiman, Scout Terry Bomer with Lily and Mark Wasserman with Flash.