Now accepting Hall of Fame nominations! See news section for more details.

I Accept

United Kennel Club (UKC) is an international dog registry celebrating bonds, rewarding ability, and preserving the value of a pedigree. We use cookies to capture information such as IP addresses and tailor the website to our clients' needs. We also use this information to target and measure promotional material. Please see our Privacy Policy for more information.

Skip to main content
Facebook Instagram YouTube

Result: MN/WI Purina Cover Dog of the Year Awards

Post Date: Jun 15, 2023

Submitted By: Ryan Hough

The points have been tabulated, thanks to Neil Anderson, our new cover dog points chair for the Purina MN/WI Cover Dog of the Year Awards. We appreciate his efforts as "points guy", it is a thankless job.

The winners really killed it this year, it was a very competitive season with plenty of real nice dogs competing.

Open Shooting Dog winner: 3xCH RU-CH Moss Meadow Seeker. Bred, owned, and handled by Michigan amateur Ken Moss. Seeker had an awesome season, winning both the Wisconsin Cover Dog Championship, and North Country Championship back to back. Seeker is a well built and powerful 5-year-old male English Setter, with a knack for finding and handling ruffed grouse and woodcock.

Amateur Shooting Dog Winner: 3xCH RU-CH Moss Meadow Seeker. See above.

Moss Meadow Seeker S23-

Moss Meadow Seeker

Open Derby Winner: Little Hawk, bred, owned and handled by Paul Cook of Danbury, Wis., English Setters. Ryan Hough handled "Little" to one derby win for Paul as he was tied up on a guiding trip. Little is a hard charging, wide ranging 2-year-old female setter that we expect great things from going forward.

little hawk s23-

Little Hawk

Amateur Derby Winner: Hackberry's Amos Moses , owned and handled by Ben Brettingen, bred by Hackberry Kennels. "Amos" consistently grabbed and held judges attention with his focused and forward "edge of bell range" race, placing in multiple large entry derby's. Amos is a 2-year-old male pointer.

hackberrys amos moses S23-

Hackberry's Amos Moses

Last year's winners:

Open Shooting Dog: Over the Hill Patti O/H Rod Lein.

Amateur Shooting Dog: Rufus Del Fuego O/H Neil Anderson

Open and Amateur Derby: Easy Money O/H Kyle Peterson.

Special thanks to Greg Blair and Purina for sponsoring this prestigious award."